6 November 2018

Davies, one of the best professional golfers of all time, is a mega-star of golf, with an impressive list of 86 professional victories, including the 1986 and 2010 Spanish Open titles, amongst her 45 on the LET.

The 12-time Solheim Cup player has won four Majors and with her win at the Senior LPGA Championship presented by Old National Bank last month, she has also completed a clean sweep of the senior major championships in 2018. Davies also captured the inaugural U.S. Senior Women’s Open conducted by the USGA in July.

Her English compatriot Trish Johnson, another Life Member of the Ladies European Tour, will also tee up in La Quinta with an impressive record on Spanish soil, highlighted by her victory in the 2010 Tenerife Ladies Open. Johnson, with 27 worldwide professional wins – including 19 on the Ladies European Tour, also won the European Ladies Golf Cup at La Sella in Alicante, Spain (with Rebecca Hudson). The eight-time Solheim Cup player’s most recent victories came on the Legends Tour, at the 2018 Suquamish Clearwater Legends Cup and BJ’s Charity Championship (with Laura Davies).

The trio of legendary players is completed with the Scotland’s Catriona Matthew, next year’s European Solheim Cup captain, with 11 professional titles including six on the LET. The nine-time Solheim Cup player recently finished 13th in the Estrella Damm Mediterranean Ladies Open at Club de Golf Terramar in Spain.

From the other side of the Atlantic, the Brits will be joined by Beth Allen, who will be looking to capitalise on a strong record. The American has won three-times on the LET and always plays well in the Spanish Open. In 2011, she finished second to Mel Reid at La Quinta, while last year, she was runner-up to Azahara Muñoz, who won the title for the second year in a row.

This year, there has been no multiple winner on the Ladies European Tour, as every tournament has been won by a different player. In terms of the nations represented, England, France, Sweden and Thailand lead the way with two titles per country, although the United Kingdom has three, following Welshwoman Becky Morgan’s recent victory in the Hero Women’s Indian Open, a fortnight ago.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap