Carlota Ciganda to make sixth appearance in the Spanish Open

5 September 2014

Despite her youth, having turned 24 in June, Carlota played twice in the tournament as an amateur and finished eighth in 2007 and ninth in 2009. She was 10th in 2011, 5th in 2012 – the year she won both the LET order of merit and rookie ranking – and 7th in 2013.

She is the only Spanish golfer who has won all of the Spanish championships in all categories, except the Tenerife Open de España Femenino, where she will hope to complete the series.

Her resume of Spanish wins began with the Benjamin Championship in 2000 and continued with Spain Alevín Championships (2001 and 2002), Children (2003 and 2004), Cadet (2003, 2004 and 2006 ) , Under 18 ( 2006, 2007 and 2008), Junior (2006, 2007 and 2008) and Absolute ( 2006, 2007 and 2008) , an overwhelming career punctuated with amateur international wins that made Carlota an icon within Spanish female golf even before she turned professional.

Seven wins as a professional – including 2 team events and 3 wins on the LET

The winning path continued after Carlota turned professional in June 2011, making her pro debut at the Tenerife Ladies Match Play, a non-official tournament on the LET where the Navarre golfer was second to Becky Brewerton from Wales. Carlota’s first win as a pro came at the Murcia Ladies Open at La Manga in November 2011, on the LET Access Tournament Series.

She then won the Spanish professional championship in April 2012, and her first win on the Ladies European Tour came at the Deloitte Ladies Open in Holland in early June 2012 before she also won the Suzhou Taihu China Open played at the end of that year.
In 2013, the Spanish golfer won the German Open in early June, while in mid-August she contributed to the European team’s historic first away victory in The Solheim Cup. In 2014, Carlota was among the Spanish team that won the inaugural International Crown.

T3rd in Tenerife Open at Costa Adeje in 2008

Not only has Carlota recorded five top 10s in the Spanish Open, but she also has an impressive record in the Tenerife Open, contested for nine years from 2002-2010. Although she missed the cut at Abama in 2005, she tied for third with Gwladys Nocera at Costa Adeje as an amateur in 2008, the year when Rebecca Hudson won the tournament ahead of Anne-Lise Caudal.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap